Friday, August 30, 2013

The City of Bones by Cassandra Clare

The City of Bones by Cassandra Clare

After witnessing a murder that only she can see, Clary finds out that she is a Shadowhunter, just like her mother. Unfortunately her mother is soon kidnapped. The murderers turns out to be three Shadowhunters, Jace, Alec, and Isabelle, killing a demon, because that is their job. Clary has to grow as a Shadowhunter and learn to use her new powers to try and save her mother. It was so hard to put this book down, especially towards the end. There was an unexpected twist because I was not sure I read it right. It had a little bit of everything, from adventure and even a little bit of romance. It was fantastic and I would surly recommend it to anybody looking for a good book to read.

Youth Advisory Panel Update

Holy COW & Westminster Fair


August 10 was a day just for Westminster. In the morning, people ran to raise money for the Youth Scholarship Fund. There were places along the courses where we would hand out water to the runners and cheering them on. Afterwards, there was the Westminster Fair. Booths were set up all around City Park where people could walk around, eat some food, and enjoy the music. It was extremely nice to hang out with family and celebrate Westminster

Tuesday, August 27, 2013

Download YALSA's Teen Book Finder app!

YALSA's (Young Adult Library Services Association) Teen Book Finder is a free app to help teens, parents, librarians and library staff, educators, and anyone who loves YA literature access to the past three years' of YALSA's awards and lists on their smartphone.

To read more about the app and to find a link to download the app, click 
here.



App features include:
  • a homepage featuring three titles from the database, refreshed each day 
  • the ability to search for books by author, title, award/list year, genre, by award, and by booklist 
  • a Find It! button, powered by the OCLC WorldCat Search API, that will show users where to find the book in a nearby library 
  • a Favorites button, to create an individualized booklist 
  • the ability to share books from the Teen Book Finder on Twitter and Facebook


Sunday, August 25, 2013

Middle School The Worst Years of my Life

Rafe Katchadorian is starting middle school. But, his mission isn't to learn. It's to break ALL of the rules from the conduct code. From bullies, to breaking rules, Rafe somehow finds a way to get in trouble wherever he goes. Will he be able to break every single rule? Read The Worst Years of My Life to find out!

Middle School the Worst Years of My life by James Patterson is an amazing, funny, fast paced read. I highly recommend it for kids and teens who want to see a middle school kid's point of view.

Our next Teen Advisory Board meeting is this Tuesday!


Our next Teen Advisory Board (TAB) meeting is Tuesday, Aug 27th from 4-5:30 pm at the College Hill Library.

Attend a meeting and join TAB to get volunteer credit for promoting library services to teens at the Westminster Public Libraries:
  • Advise, plan, and participate in teen programs.
  • Post reviews and teen news on the Teen Underground blog/website.
  • Promote teen reading and news by creating bulletin boards and displays in the Teen Underground areas.
  • Recommend materials for the young adult collection.
Ages 12-17. No registration.

Future meeting dates: last Tuesday of each month

To receive notices about teen news and events at the library, scroll to the bottom of the WPL Teen Underground webpage and sign up to follow us by email.

Saturday, August 24, 2013

Mortal Instruments City of Bones movie

The Mortal Instruments: City Of Bones
 I finally got to see this movie at last! I know the movie can't be the same as the book, but what really disappointed me was that it felt like the movie was being rushed in the beginning and some things were missing. I get that the movie is done and they can't do anything to make some fans happy, but I still think they could have added a few more things like (SPOILER if you haven't read the books or seen movie) Luke telling Clary the story when he turns into a werewolf. For those people who haven't read the books, I think you'll enjoy this movie. I enjoyed the movie but just a few things bugged me but overall I liked it and cannot wait for City Of Ashes! If you did not know they start filming next month :D!!
When the movie comes out on DVD, I'll certainly buy it to start another movie series collection.

Wednesday, August 21, 2013

TOP TEN FAVORITE SONGS: 


1: Demons                                     by: Imagine Dragons        
2: Undiclosed Desires                     by: Muse
3: Still Into You                             by: Paramore
4: She Will Be Loved                     by: Maroon 5
5: Pardon Me                                 by: He Is We 
6: Punching In A Dream                 by: The Naked And Famous
7: Machine                                     by: Observer Drift
8: Float On                                     by: Modest Mouse
9: Summertime Sadness                  by:Lana Del Rey
10: All I Need                                 by:Radiohead

Sunday, August 18, 2013

Top Ten Anime/Manga

1.  Fairy Tail by Hiro Mashima
2.  Bleach by Tite Kubo
3.  07 Ghost by Yuki Amemiya & Ichihara
4. Soul Eater by Ookubo Atsuski 
5. Pretty Rhythm: Rainbow Live by Deko Akao 


6. Fruit Basket by Takaya Natsuki  
7.  Yu-Gi-Oh! Zexal by Shin Yoshida  
8. Fushigi Yuugi: Genbu Kaiden by Watase Yuu 
9. Skip Beat by Nakamura Yoshiki
10. Kyou Koi wo Hajimemasu by Kanan Minami 

Saturday, August 17, 2013

Percy Jackson Sea of Monsters

Percy Jackson: Sea of Monsters was released on August 7. It is a follow-up after The Lighting Thief. The movie is based on Rick Riordan's Percy Jackson & The Olympians book series. The movie is very similar but also different from the book, but the effects is pretty amazing. They've done a better job on the movie this time. Its included some violence but I recommend it to everyone because the movie is incredible.

Thursday, August 15, 2013

Vote now for your favorite Teens Top Ten books!


The YALSA Teens' Top Ten is a "teen choice" list, where teens nominate and choose their favorite books of the previous year! Vote for your favorite nominees at www.ala.org/yalsa/reads4teens.
Aug 15 — Sep 15

Thursday, August 8, 2013

Our next Dungeons & Dragons club meeting is this Saturday

Our next meeting is Saturday, Aug 10th.

July-December 2013:  The World of Lynneoch
-Drop in and try your hand at adventuring!
-Take on the role of a heroic character of fantasy in a world of monsters, magic and destiny!
-We have a variety of characters to choose from...look forward to seeing you!

Ages 12-17

Future Dates: 2nd Saturday of each month from 1-4pm at College Hill

*** To receive notices about teen news and events at the library, scroll to the bottom of the WPL Teen Underground webpage and sign up to follow us by email ***

Read it for free on pulseit

Pulseit is an online community for anyone that loves teen books! It’s where you can read free teen books and exclusive excerpts, heart comments, books and content that you love, and share your reviews on books, your ideas, and more. Plus – it’s free to join & participate! (You must be 14 years old to join.) Pulseit is a teen.simonandschuster.com community. 

What Really Happened in Peru by Cassandra Clare
Fans of The Mortal Instruments and The Infernal Devices know that Magnus Bane is banned from Peru—and now they can find out why. One of ten adventures in The Bane Chronicles.

There are good reasons Peru is off-limits to Magnus Bane. Follow Magnus’s Peruvian escapades as he drags his fellow warlocks Ragnor Fell and Catarina Loss into trouble, learns several instruments (which he plays shockingly), dances (which he does shockingly), and disgraces his host nation by doing something unspeakable to the Nazca Lines.


This standalone e-only short story in The Bane Chronicles, What Really Happened in Peru, is written by Cassandra Clare and Sarah Rees Brennan. Hurry..."read it free" download ends 8/11.


Check pulseit each week for more free teen books to download and read!

Wednesday, August 7, 2013

Website of the Month


The website of the month this month is: https://ifttt.comIFTTT 
The basic premise behind the website is, "if this then that." It essentially lets you automate many of the online activities that you do every day. It uses things called building blocks fora  variety of websites to create recipes tailored to your needs. For example you can take pictures added in Instagram and place them into your Dropbox. it hooks into Facebook, Twitter, Email, and the list goes on. All of these websites have a multitude of options for triggers in IFTTT. Overall  in my experience i have found this website incredibly helpful in automating things on the computer.

-Soham

The Gardener by S.A. Bodeen

"The Gardener" is a book that can make you seriously take a second look at life and what the future holds for generations to come.  The book starts out with a flashback of Mason when he was a kid.  He has never met his father and after being attacked by a dog, his mother decides to show him a video of his faceless father reading a book.  Back to present day, Mason discovers secrets after secrets about his mother, why she despises a local scientific research facility, who his father really is, and why a mysterious girl who came across as brain dead is awoken from listening to the video of Mason's faceless father.  The mysterious girl can't seem to remember who she is, where she is from, and why she is not able to eat regular food without throwing up.  One thing is for sure though:  the mysterious girl is terrified of a person who is referred to as The Gardener.  From keeping secrets from his mother to keeping secrets from the entire world, "The Gardener" will keep readers intrigued to find out what the darkest secret is.

Top 10 Book Favorites

This is a list of 10 of my favorite books I have enjoyed reading over and over again!
  1. The Girl Who Owned A City by O.T. Nelson
  2. Heidi by Johanna Spyri
  3. Anne of Green Gables by Lucy Montgomery
  4. The Giver by Lois Lowry
  5. Divergent by Veronica Roth
  6. Harry Potter Series by J.K Rowling
  7. Animal Farm by George Orwell
  8. A Wrinkle In Time by Madeleine L'Engle
  9. Rot and Ruin by Jonathan Maberry
  10. Percy Jackson Series by Rick Riordan
Totally check out some of these book if you have never read them because they are definitely worth the time to read!

Tuesday, August 6, 2013

Enter the City of Bones contest!

Celebrate the upcoming release of the movie and stop by the Teen Underground area at the College Hill or Irving Street library to vote for your favorite City of Bones character. You could win a free book!

Ages 12-17
August

Sunday, August 4, 2013

Don't miss our next Inklings meeting!



Inklings Teen Writers' Club Meeting
Teens meet each month to share their writing, receive feedback and practice writing prompts. Our next meeting is Tuesday, Aug 6th!

Ages 12-17, No registration

Future meetings:1st Tuesday each month 4-6pm at College Hill

To receive notices about teen news and events at the library, scroll to the bottom of the WPL Teen Underground webpage and sign up to follow us by email.

Thursday, August 1, 2013

Learn to use the library's electronic resources for your assignments!

Discover Electronic Resources for Students


If you put homework off until the last minute and need resources after the library is closed, this is the program for you!

Learn more about our eBooks and online databases for research and homework assignments. Learn fun ways to read nonfiction books from home and on your electronic devices.

This class is for students ages 8-17, parents, and teachers!

No registration
Saturday, Oct 5, 2-3:15 pm, College Hill

Wednesday, Oct 9, 6:30-7:45 pm, Irving Street